Data center certification

Which standards and certificates stand for proven security in data centers?

Fast, secure data transmission with low latency, sustainability, energy efficiency, and many other aspects: The demands placed on data centers are increasing every day. A look at the certificates and tier classification of a data center is often decisive in deciding for or against a data center – because compliance with various standards promises proven quality.

Trouble-free data center operation and information security

Data centers have become indispensable for companies and private individuals alike, because most online data is managed and stored in data centers. This is why trouble-free data center operation and general data center security are so important. With the appropriate certifications, a data center can prove that it meets certain standards for information security, physical security and quality management, ensuring availability with as little downtime as possible.

Numerous guidelines for data center certification

The demands on data centers are high – and also very diverse. Although there is no legal obligation for certification, there is a great deal of competition on the market and consequently also commercial pressure to be able to prove integrity and security, for example when submitting an offer. Many of the relevant standards are defined by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the German Institute for Standardization (DIN). However, verifying their implementation is left to users or to independent bodies such as Dekra, TÜV, and DQS. To orient themselves in the market, IT managers should know which standards and certifications are particularly important for data centers:

  • ISO 27001: The international standard for information security and central certification for data center cybersecurity, with a focus on organizational and procedural levels, ensures that processes are clearly defined and are regularly updated.
  • EN 50600: As the first Europe-wide standard, EN 50600 “Information technology – Data center facilities and infrastructures” deals with various aspects from planning and construction to data center operation, and is primarily used as a holistic approach for new buildings.
  • ISO 9001: A globally recognized and widely used quality management standard that forms the basis of a continuous improvement process for management systems within a company.

Other standards that are not only relevant for colocation data centers include ISO 27017 (IT security procedures for cloud services), ISO 27018 (IT security procedures for cloud services/processing of personal data), ISO 20000-1 (IT service management), ISO 22301 (business continuity management), and data protection management in accordance with ISO 27701.

As an experienced data center operator and multiple award-winning colocation provider, ITENOS knows what is important when it comes to data center certification and can prove on the basis of various certificates that ITENOS meets the strict security requirements and standards demanded by the relevant ISO standards.

Talk to us. We look forward to your project!

Thomas Wolpert

Head of Account Management